Tasty Peppermint

I was recently asked to review a zine in exchange for an entry into a draw to win a bunch of mini-zines. Too good to resist right? So… this is what I wrote:

OK this one is more of a mag than a zine but I can’t resist sharing, partly because my sister is now one of the editors and partly because she sent me a copy and it’s AWESOME!

Peppermint is all about getting your green on and looking fabulous in the process. It’s vogue with a soul, a heart and a conscience. It has non-shiny 100% post-consumer recycled pages and has the style of hand-drawn ink and watercolour paintings.

It’s not all beauty products and organic baby clothes either. Peppermint will educate you without making you feel stupid. It goes behind the ‘green wash’ of advertising and tells you which companies are cool and why.

Tess Curran’s story on the ethics of diamonds “blinded by the light” was brilliant (pardon the pun). Everything from the ground up – processing, cutting, polishing, transport and the marketing of diamonds is included. (Even the lack of education of jewelery store staff). I was pleasantly surprised that this wordy article didn’t leave me overwhelmed or confused but rather informed and empowered. This article went very well with the edition’s theme “All you need is Love”. The issue is also packed with a gorgeous lingerie spread, eco-friendly wedding tips and of course a multi-page pictorial of the ultimate in love – the wedding dress.

Another endearing quality of Peppermint is that it’s not all about changing everything in your life straight away. It’s as much about inspiration through positive role models, seeing how mums became designers while throwing in a how-to on how to turn a circle table-cloth into a skirt. It’s fun, it’s funky, it’s cute and little sassy. It’s like someone got into my head and finally wrote a zine for ME.

P.S. Did I mention the bit about some drool-worthy vintage vixen finery? Oh and the FOOD… yummo!

P.P.S. I wanna be in Peppermint one day. (Not just because of my sister either!)

About sweetypiedie

Sweetypiedie is creative, articulate, compassionate and introspective. Connecting with people is important. Expressing oneself is vital. Her goal is to be a creative force for positive change. Welcome to her portal.
This entry was posted in Peppermint, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tasty Peppermint

  1. Jess says:

    I loved your review on Peppermint – it made me want to read it!

  2. sweetypiedie says:

    Welcome to the blog Jess!
    I can understand your feelings – I am currently working out my budget so I can get a subscription organised.
    The Editor-At-Large informs me Peppermint is from Brisbane so you should be able to find it at major Newsagencies or you can order it from http://www.magnation.com.au or http://www.leeloo.com.au. That way you can read an issue at a time if you don’t want to go for a subscription straight out of the box. 🙂

Leave a Reply

