My Great Art Interpretation: The Muses (Les muses) – Maurice Denis

The Muses (Les muses) - Maurice Denis (1893)

Tonight I’ve been working on ‘My Great Art Interpretation’ swap. I am doing my own interpretation of The Muses (Les muses) by Maurice Denis (Original above). This is one of the many works of Impressionist, Post-Impressionist and Symbolist art that I viewed at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra as part of The Masterpieces from Paris exhibition in late February of this year. I find that you can really come to appreciate the detail of a painting by trying to copy it. I am learning to appreciate more the proportions, angles and perspectives of the work. I am thinking of using a different colour palette than the original. In time I will see how this goes.

This is my progress so far, next to the original in black and white with the original in  colour below.  (click an image to enlarge):

I know that I need to make the head bigger of the lady with the sketch book open on her lap and add more overall detail but in general I am really happy with how it’s coming along. I can see that my job would have been easier if I was drawing from the black and white scan. I scanned it in black and white by accidentally not changing the settings back to colour. This swap is due next week on the 11th so I will try to remember to share the results with you before I put it in the post.

About sweetypiedie

Sweetypiedie is creative, articulate, compassionate and introspective. Connecting with people is important. Expressing oneself is vital. Her goal is to be a creative force for positive change. Welcome to her portal.
This entry was posted in Drawing and Painting, Things I've Made and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

