A Skinny Giraffe In Chaos

You may be thinking “Aren’t all Giraffes skinny?” Why yes, they are – they obviously don’t have access to the sort of choc-covered honeycomb that I do! But I am talking about a different kind of Skinny. For the uninitiated, a Skinny Card is like an ATC but a little larger in size (3 x 5 inches). For those non-crafty folk reading my blog (like my family) an ATC is an Artist Trading Card.

Giraffe's Lunch Skinny Card

Recently I completed a Giraffe Skinny Swap on Swap-Bot. For a little while my Giraffe Skinny was one of the little photos on the Swap-Bot homepage. This did make me quite happy!

As with many ATCs and Skinny Cards traded on Swap-Bot the technique I used for my Giraffe Skinny was a 3D collage. This is where you take different elements and stick them down next to, and on top of one-another to build up a picture. (Click on the image to see a larger version)

It does take a little imagination to see that a plain old bottle cap would make an excellent stand-in for the sun. It also takes a little bit of memory for what’s in your craft stash and where it is so you can use it! Remembering your stash extends to tools as well. If you want to make a pretty edge on your paper you need to know where your edging scissors are. I think it is for this reason that so many craft rooms are in a constant state of organised chaos! It looks chaotic to the untrained eye but the creative genius that inhabits the space will know where each project is, who it’s for, what needs to be done to complete it and when it needs to be done by. They also know exactly where to find the fabric, ribbon, thread, adhesive, beads, wire, paper, etc they need to add to the project. (Of course I am talking about myself in third person here :)).

I am improving in my organisation and the chaos around me and within me is lessening as I get older. (I hesitate to say ‘mature’ :P). I am looking forward to doing a proper spring clean and setting up this room properly. Unfortunately the ups and downs with my health have prevented me from getting it done. I am a reasonably patient person though, and I know that it will be fabulous when it is done because I can see it in my head, and that’s enough to make me happy for now.

Reverse Side of Giraffe's Lunch

Wishing you all a fantastic Friday the 13th. Only two months to my birthday!  🙂

♥ Sweetypiedie ♥

About sweetypiedie

Sweetypiedie is creative, articulate, compassionate and introspective. Connecting with people is important. Expressing oneself is vital. Her goal is to be a creative force for positive change. Welcome to her portal.
This entry was posted in ATCs and Skinny Cards, Collage, Things I've Made, Trains of thought and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Skinny Giraffe In Chaos

  1. Rebecca says:

    I know what you mean, both about your creative space and health getting in the way! I have lupus and it is a constant struggle to get everyday things like cleaning and laundry done. My space is pretty neat except for the little things that dint really have a home like all the bits and bobs I get in packages from swapbot! I’ve had to create organization just for them! I love the skinny too!

    • sweetypiedie says:

      Sorry to hear that you’re in the Auto-immune club too. I’m constantly trying to catch up! I’d be interested to know how you organise in-coming mail. For me it get put in a box and when I can’t cram anything else in the box I sort through it and find homes for it all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

