Painting Finished!!

It is with much relief that I present to you my latest masterpiece!

Finished Painting - The Muses

Technically it is my interpretation of someone-else’s masterpiece but it is actually one of the most challenging things I have ever created. This picture was taken using my mobile phone while the paint is still wet. (A pain to try and not get shinyness – hence the weird angle).

I have come a long way this week since the initial drawing. (See earlier post for the initial sketch and the picture I was working from). I have also come a long way in the past 3 years on my creative journey. I really should share that with you another day. I am quite sore and tired from my two-day painting marathon. It really wasn’t made any easier by the neighbour directly above me who was hammering constantly from 8:30 am. (Having stopped only at midnight on Friday night!). I have not slept well and I was working hunched over the coffee table as the craft table is currently the safe haven of the computer. I’m really looking forward to everything being set up properly in here. I think my back will thank me.

Despite all this there are many things I want to do before bed… I will probably only do one or two of them though. The phrase “I’ll sleep when I’m dead” comes to mind but I can’t quite remember the tune. (Brian is still in visual mode, not auditory mode).

Kudos to Maurice Denis who painted the original back in 1893, the Musée d’Orsay in Paris who usually houses the work, and the National Gallery of Australia who exhibited the work earlier this year along with other Masterpieces From Paris (when the Musée d’Orsay was doing renovations); and whose staff made it possible for me to see the exhibition in relative comfort. (Special mention to Jóse who was so friendly, helpful and kind!).

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and are now recharged for the week ahead!

♥ ♥ ♥ Sweetypiedie

About sweetypiedie

Sweetypiedie is creative, articulate, compassionate and introspective. Connecting with people is important. Expressing oneself is vital. Her goal is to be a creative force for positive change. Welcome to her portal.
This entry was posted in Drawing and Painting, Things I've Made and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

