Fishy Dude

I just bought myself a little fish. I think he’s a dude. He hasn’t yet told me what his name is. He’s a Betta or Siamese Fighting fish.

I have wanted one of his species for a while. They are not only beautiful but intriguing, curious and intelligent.

Today we bonded at first sight. Hard to describe bonding with a fish I know. But he stared at me, and I stared back. I could see he was sad and depressed. All his fins were down and not moving much… I wanted to cry. That is until I decided I wanted to take him home. As soon as I said this he started perking up, his little gill fins started flapping furiously, probably because he knew he had found his ticket out of there.

Here are some grainy mobile phone photos of him settling in:

My Fishy Dude Getting Acclimatised

Fishy Dude

(No I didn’t use the flash).

Yes I know I don’t have to keep him in such a large tank. You don’t have to let people out of solitary confinement either. You don’t have to give any being an interesting and stimulating environment but I know that this is what all beings need to thrive – human, cat, dog, child, or even fish.

I have opted for a filter so I can lessen the stress brought on by tank cleaning by not having to do it as often. I haven’t turned it on while he’s in there yet. I don’t want to frighten him while he’s still settling in.

I haven’t yet got a pretty background to go behind the tank to hide the pump and the cords. I’m still getting to know him so I’m not sure what kind of decor he likes. He will be getting more gravel soon as what’s in there at the moment is left over from my zen garden. I really couldn’t bring myself to put in the flouro, multi-coloured gravel that came with the tank. Yes there are rocks and shells in there, as well as some snowflake obsidian and some moonstone. I’m hoping to one day get him some real plants and maybe some friends but for now I think he’s pretty chuffed that he’s got a plastic plant and a whole bunch of space to actually swim around in and a few things to hide behind, as Betta fishy dudes like to play hide and seek.

I really can’t stop smiling. I can see that he’s relaxing and enjoying himself. Even his colour seems to be more vibrant, but that could mean that he’s a little agitated – either from the move or from seeing his own reflection.

He is a little camera shy, can’t blame him really. He’s not used to all the attention.

Aquatically yours,

♥ ♥ Sweetypiedie ♥ ♥

Election Day Outfit

P.S. Election day outfit was good luck after all. (Good luck in finding Fishy Dude that is, time will tell for the outcome of the election).

About sweetypiedie

Sweetypiedie is creative, articulate, compassionate and introspective. Connecting with people is important. Expressing oneself is vital. Her goal is to be a creative force for positive change. Welcome to her portal.
This entry was posted in The Adventures of Fishy Dude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

