Hand Drawn ATCs

Last week I was busy for a few days in a row drawing and colouring some ATCs.

B is for Betta – This one is a portrait of Fishy Dude. This is an Angel project for swap-bot.

The next two ATCs are Zentangles. The motto of Zentangle is “Anything is possible… one stroke at a time“. The idea behind zentangles is that is is an easy to learn method of creating beautiful images from repetitive patterns.

Normally a Zentangle is created on a 3½ inch square tile. For the purposes of them still being ATCs they are 2½ by 3½ inches in size. Tangle Patterns has a great How-To page for those new to Zentangle as well as many designs (or Tangles) to fill your ‘strings’ with. If you’re really committed to Zentangling you can even sign up to their newsletter.

To create these ATCs and most of the ATCs in this entry I have been using the new Sharpie Pen (Fine). It’s much like a felt-tip pen but with the quality and glide that you would expect from Sharpie.

This ATC is called Bloom – Zentangle Style. It is one of my ‘practice’ zentangles that I decided would look better coloured. I’m sending it off to a friend of mine. The colouring of this ATC, the B is for Betta ATC at the top and the two cats below were all done done using Derwent Inktense water-colour ink pencils. I love these pencils! They were quite an investment, especially on a tight budget, but I really do not regret it. They are so easy to use and give such a depth and vibrancy of colour that you just can’t get with the watercolour pencils (although they have their place too). They mix well of the page too which is important with a limited palette of 24 colours.

I am hosting a series of Halloween ATC swaps in the Mailbox Nourishment group on Swap-Bot. The first one is for a ‘Creepy Cat’. You can see my disturbing feline creations of a Creepy Vampire Cat and Creepy Beelzebub Cat below. I’m actually really impressed that I am now at a stage where I am comfortable drawing in pen. There was once a time where I really felt the need to pencil everything in first. The devil cat turned out more evil than I expected. I was going for ‘creepy’ not ‘soul-suckingly evil’.

I realise after looking up the name of my hellish cat that I may have mis-named him. Beelzebub was Lord of the Flies, one of the princes of hell. However my naming is concurrent with the reference in the Testament of Solomon. Beelzebub seems to get around when it comes to possessions; however it is contested as to whether pride or gluttony was his forte. (I would think gluttony with the whole fly thing).  Regardless of his true name, his nature as a deviant, self-serving trickster who resides in hellfire is obvious.

¤¤¤ Sweetypiedie ¤¤¤

About sweetypiedie

Sweetypiedie is creative, articulate, compassionate and introspective. Connecting with people is important. Expressing oneself is vital. Her goal is to be a creative force for positive change. Welcome to her portal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hand Drawn ATCs

  1. Coleen says:

    Hi Diane, Just stopping by to see what you are up to. Great drawing on the ATCs. I’m working on some myself. I love doing zentangles too.
    Coleen in Ukraine and from S-B

  2. Mandymoo says:

    I don’t care what you call him. He is all mine now and he is just wonderful.
    You did a great job. :o)

Leave a Reply

